I’ve seen this Facebook status going around a lot, and instead of responding to each status I thought I’d write a a little explanation. The status goes as follows:
Hey Everyone…I’d like to keep my FB private except to those I am friends with. So if you all would do the following, I’d appreciate it. With the new FB timeline on its way this week for EVERYONE, please do both of us a favor. Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you’ll see a box that says : “Subscribed”. Hover over that, then go to “comments and likes” and unclick it. That will stop my posts and yours to me from showing up on the bar side for everyone to see, but most importantly it limits hackers from invading our profiles. If you re-post this I will do the same for you. You’ll know I’ve acknowledged you because if you tell me that you’ve done it I’ll “like” it
If your friends follow the advice of this status, they (your friends) will no longer see your comment and like activity on the Ticker (the bar on the right side of your Facebook that constantly scrolls activities). It does not stop your activities from being recorded or being displayed to the friends who do not follow the advice of this status. If you go to your Timeline you will see an Activity button just below the large picture at the top of your Timeline. In the Activity section you can see your activity history since you first signed up for Facebook. I went back and found that I signed up for Facebook on July 17th, 2007 at 11:37AM.
Unless your Facebook Privacy is set to public, or you specifically set a post to public, only your friends can see your activity. The above status has nothing to do with hackers. If hackers want your information they will get it no matter what your privacy settings are.
The best thing you can do to protect your privacy is not be on the Internet, next to that check your Facebook Privacy settings and make sure it’s set to Friends, or set a Custom privacy setting that can limit your posts to specific friends.